Self Support Running

Come Sunday,

the 16th of June, I will be running a 50K Ultramarathon from Sta Cruz, Laguna to Lucban, Quezon (L2Q) – on self-support.

Such feat is not for everybody.

It’s only for the experienced and the ones who are up to get the experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve done this already. In T2N 50K, and Fort Magsaysay 60K. It’s a big bonus already when you get to be of the same pace with someone supported and willing to share supplies.

…and that’s how ultramarathon is. People share. People care.

If they don’t? Pray to God that there’d be lots of sari-sari store along the route.

L2Q is a new route. No one has ever blogged about it nor reconned the route and shouted. Given that there’d be convenience or sari-sari store along the route, we still can’t tell how far each is to one another.

A runner must rely on what is carried – which is a must.

At least bring some and conserve until stores are found.

Ok. Let’s rephrase. Since I will be running on self-support, this is exactly how I will do it.

  • BRING WHAT I NEED. At least a supply enough to carry me above 10K. Hoping that before or after 10K mark, there’d be some stores to buy something, an aid station that has something to offer, or some angels to aid me. ๐Ÿ™‚ NOTE: From Sta. Cruz Capitol to Pagsanjan Municipal Hall is about 5K only. So the 1st 5K is not a problem.
  • CARRY ONLY THE LIGHTEST. OF course, one cannot sustain a heavy load over a long distance. It has to be just enough to be something bearable. NOTE: From Pagsanjan Municipal Hall to Lumban-Caliraya-Cavinti Road is only 3.3K. There’s a Public Market before the fork – it’s wise to re-load there and carry a bit more.
  • BE TOUGH. MIND AND BODY. Carry on and focus on the run. My strategy is to execute my training : a 10:1 run walk – except for the steepest ascent. NOTE: From the Fork to STI College near Caliraya Recreation is 7.1kms. This is already in LUMBAN. It’s a bearable jungle of you, the view and the road. At this point, I already have covered 15.4Kms of the entire route. The longest ascent is at KM 9 to 14 – which is most likely to be a walk. This is also where the walking-picnic happens. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOLS
  • FREE YOUR MIND – PRAY. When I run, I do not entertain negative thoughts. Rather, I pray a lot. There’s nothing better than this. Me and my God on a very long chat! NOTE: From Lumban’s STI College, there’d be a community in the next 4.9 to 5.2K of the route. This is already past the KM 20 of the race. Still, a safe race in terms of supplies.The BIble says in Hebrews 13:5: New International Version (ยฉ2011) Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” No worries, right?
  • CAREFUL NOTE: The next 5K from the KM 20 of the route is a bit similar to the last. Pray that the small community at this point has something to offer for the passing runners. ๐Ÿ™‚ An ice-cold JUICY LEMON or an RC perhaps?
  • ENDURE. The next 5 to 6K of the route is another jungle. I need to endure and rely on my supplies at this point until I reach Cavinti-Luisiana Road. Joseph Prince Baltazar should be at this point. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOLS with rice meal on hand! This is now KM 31 to 32K.
  • POINT OF NO RETURN. I will not surrender, of course. This point is where no one should consider tapping out. It’s 18K more to the Finish Line. FINISH LINE matters here. Not the MORE. ๐Ÿ™‚ (gets?)
  • HOPE ALWAYS FOR THE BEST. RELY ON GOD. The next 5K is a jungle again. But there’s a number of small communities along the route. God will provide. This should be KM 37 of the entire route.
  • READY FOR THE FEAST. The next 5 to 6K is in Luisiana already. It’s a crowded place. There ought to be a lot of vendors there – for me to feast on. This is KM 42 to 43. Last jungle stretch to the FINISH. I should be burping and smiling at this point.
  • AGAIN, do not lose focus here. Last stretch to the finish must be endured. I will have to rely again on what I am carrying before the Finish Line in Lucban. I should be light at this point too because I am sure that I am already running at a fast pace. But then, caution on too much confidence. We can never tell the weather.

My 10:1 Run Walk can do this. All I have to do is just to vary the pace.

1 – 9 = flat

10 – 14 = ascending

15 – 50 = rolling hills

See you on Sunday!

ย 

ย 

ย 

ย 

Leave a Reply

