21 to 50 – The L2Q Chronicle

Longest race for the year is 21K before yesterday’s L2Q.

It’s my first ultramarathon for this year.

๐Ÿ™‚

Allow me to share my story.

June 15:

  • @7:10pm, I left home to DLTB Buendia.
  • @8:02pm, I entered the long line.
  • @8:17pm, boarded the bus.
  • @8:47pm, bus is already in Alabang Metropolis.
  • @9:27pm, bus is already in Calamba City.
  • @10:38pm, bus is already in Sta. Cruz, Laguna.
  • @10:55pm, I am already having a Burger Steak meal at Jollibee Sta. Cruz.

June 16:

  • @past MIDNIGHT, with Ronald Robles, we bought water at 7-11. After, a light coffee snack at a bakery opposite the Provincial Capitol of Sta. Cruz.

We tried to take a nap. I failed. We tried to find a good place to rest but I still failed to get the needed sleep. I was just so energized.

  • @3:31am, we startled to mingle with the big crowd of ultrarunners. Lots of pictures.
  • TEAM BORING runner in attendance: ME, Thea Sangrador, Ronald Robles, Nonong Mortel, Rej Santos, Bong Bernadez, Mccoy Lontoc, Rod Apolinario, and Boo Toledo. On Self-Support: Me, Thea and Ronald.
  • @4:30am, gunstart.
  • @7:01am, first softdrink @ a sari sari store. A very small bottle of Sprite.
  • @8:22am, next softdrink @ a sari sari store. A small bottle of Royal.
  • @8:48am, reached KM 30. Had a nice cone of ice cream. Ahead of 9am Target.
  • @9:22am, first twitch of a developing cramp.
  • @11:30am, @ the welcome ark of Lucban.
  • a few meters after an ice cold coke by Meljohn Tezon, I was able to push the pace – only to be halted by a big and nasty hamstring cramps. Thanks to a nearby support car of a kind runner I-failed-to-get-the-bib-number-nor-the-name. I was really grimacing in pain – and the man hurriedly applied an omega pain killer (or something) to my relief! ๐Ÿ™‚ God is good indeed.

Then all of a sudden, as we trod (me with some other runners) the last 4kms to finish, a heavy rain fell. I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

I was back at my fast walk and I pushed the pace until the finish line. My record via My Track shows a 50.24K @ 7:54:30. The route was 52.55K. Unofficially, I think I saw 8:12:++ when I crossed. But then, I think it better to post the official result once it is published.

I have a sore back, shoulder and quads – for carrying my own supplies. But I am glad I did. Jet Paiso offered to take the bag to the Finish Line in the last 5K – so I was able to run and walk a bit faster without the excess weight.

At the time of this writing, I can walk normally even on stairs. Thank God!

954844_10200122386525924_1206072602_n 1011159_4966732131030_2075488290_n 944717_471036749655869_1066462587_n 971444_471036702989207_936845965_n

I have lots of people/team to thank.

  1. Team Boring: Jet Paiso, Joy Vargas, Vivs Toledo, Cindy Sevilla. The rest I didnt get to see along the route. Either they are far away ahead or behind me.
  2. Team Fairview: Special shout to Amang! Tubig lang yun – pero yun ang kailangan.
  3. Team Ekek: right at a time when it’s all too hot – a cold spray!
  4. Team Marupok: Meljohn and Brian – a big thanks! Very nice store of everything! Right also at a time when something is needed.
  5. Myla Limpay Go – for the post run meal / coffee / ride / chat. I do envy your training ground. ๐Ÿ™‚
  6. Leo Tugade and his team of snails! ๐Ÿ™‚ Salamat sa Flat Tops!

The race was well organized. Marshalls are to be found exactly where you need to find the route. The water/gatorade at stations are cold and right at the point as announced. GU was given. Ice Cream too. Ambulance always on standby. Cheers abound too. The route is well managed in terms of the traffic. Roving marshalls are everywhere!

It is worth noting that the route’s view is majestic and amazing.

This is a run worth repeating.

Kudos to the Organizer of this race. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

