FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #11

AMAZING.

No better word to describe this guy.

He is known to the lots of you as:

BOB

PAUMEDAL

ELMAR BOB TOLETE

My very first Race:

My first run is the Fort Strider 10km run in Sept. 02, 2010, being invited by my high school batchmate, we registered in a 10km category and just run on the event day without thinking how long it, we just want a medal. After that I joined the Milo A.P.E.X (Athletic Performance Enhancement Training)  Running School,  since then I keep on learning and adopting ways on how can I improve my running. A month after my first 10km and being train under Milo Running clinic I join my first 21km and happy to get a sub 2 time (during that time I don’t know what that means) and the rest is history as I continue to improve myself, staying fit and healthy.

FESTIVA

The reason why I run:         

I run because I want explore the possibilities of the things that I can do –  to challenge my mind and body and do it again and again.

My most memorable race:

The most Memorable Marathon I’ve done is the Singapore Standard Chartered Marathon last December 02, 2012, where I got my best personal record of 3:38, here I got the chance to push myself as fast and hard as I can and to be able to run side by side by top foreign marathoner. It’s an awakening stage to me while running that am a newbie to the sport I felt in love.

Impressive Time!
Impressive Time!

As for Ultra, the most memorable is the H1 HARDCORE HUNDRED MILES last Feb. 22-23 2013, after finishing my first 100 miles in 2nd edition of TD 100 (Taklang Damulag), December 15, 2012 and the 3rd BDM 160 on January 2013. The truth is I want to taper and rest because am aiming for a BDM Grand slam doing the BDM 160 and 102. BDM 102 is being held every March so I have whole month of February to be on condition again after having my worst blister in TD 100, but my friend CJ Miles aiming for ARC Grand Slam ask me to join him on H1. Having financial problem, good friends of mine (they know who they are) support me to join the H1. I trek the Mt Pulag and Mt Ugo in different times but doing this time I will be doing both in one event. I am worried if I can finish – but I value the trust of my friend. So my plan is simple “keep me high and moving till the finish line”. Till now I can’t believe I finish that. Mother nature gave us (H1 Participant) a challenge of a lifetime – cold rain and wind plus the various terrain from start to finish line. I thank Sir Jonel Mendoza for pushing me to join Ultra Events and Sir Jovie Narcise for creating Ultra Events in the Philippines. I don’t have to travel abroad to meet and race along with foreign Ultra Runner like Sir Andre Blumberg, Sir Mark Jolin, Sir Seow Kong Ng and many more. I gained tips on how to train myself and what nutrition to take base on their experience plus am having fun in trail and in road as I tour the beauty of our country while running.

TAKLAFINISH

TAKLA

72304_10151356144030892_1517098691_n

197261_10151553016131522_1585800013_n

the elites of H1!
the elites of H1!

     TROPHIES

H1TROP

My Best Time in a Marathon: 5- 13

3:38:36 in Singapore Standard Chartered Marathon 2012

Running Statistics – Marathon vs Ultra:         

RECORD SINCE I START RUNNING in 2010

MARATHON

  • Condura Skyway Marathon 2012
  • Milo Marathon 2012
  • Runrio Philippine Marathon 2012
  • Singapore Standard Chartered Marathon 2012
  • Condura Skyway Marathon 2013

ULTRAMARATHON RACE

  • 1st Fort Magsaysay 60k 2011

TKRFORT

  • Western Pangasinan 65k 2011
  • T2N 50k 2011
  • BDM 102 – 2012
  • TNF 100 2012
  • 2nd Fort Magsaysay 60k 2012
Thru the kindness of Joseph Sibal - we are on the same van!
Thru the kindness of Joseph Sibal – we are on the same van!
  • Epic Relay 250km 2012
  • TD 100 MILE 2012 (TAKLANG DAMULAG 100 MILE ENDURANCE RUN)

CJKAR

  • BDM 160 – 2013
  • PIMCO Tanay 50k Trail run 2013
  • H1 HARDCORE HUNDRED MILES in KAYAPA 2013
  • BDM 102 – 2013
  • L2Q 50k 2013

Difference between marathon and 50k?      

In a marathon you push all your speed and stamina in one shoot.  You endure the pain while your sustaining your speed because you aim to have a best time…

In a 50K/ Ultra event you focus on doing a relax and steady pace per km, being consistent in your cadence and checking your hydration/nutrition as you go for a higher mileage.

PREPARATION

I run everyday to relax my mind at work or simple to stay fit and healthy. If I have a race or ultra event I plan my training program/ mileage run before the said event. I want to finish strong and injury free as much as possible.

RACING

At the starting line I always pray and seek guidance from above, then I visualize my run. I always start slow, steady building up my pace. I always check my hydration/ nutrition.  I walk if I need to then run again all the way to the finish line.

MY FAVORITE SHOES FOR RACING AND TRAINING?

Am not specific in running shoe, the two things I check when I buy “the comfort and the price””
Most of my shoes are top running shoes of previous years (mga lumang model para sale na or lowprice but top quality) like the one I have used for TD100, BDM 160/102 and H1  – old version of Newton Sir Isaac. I also have Salomon, Mizuno Racer and K-swiz (dont know the model). Unlike others, for me,  the one I use in training is the one I also use in the race event not unless alam ko na bibigay na yung shoes and need na palitan. Thinking ko kasi hindi naman sa running shoes yun it’s how you run efficiently, Basta comfortable paa mo sa sapatos, takbo na.

Team Affiliation:

  • Team USB (Ultra Snail Runners)

USB

  • Milo R2 Apex Team Managers

APEX

MY MESSAGE TO THE RUNNING COMMUNITY?

“Respect the Distance”, take time in leveling up your category. Have a discipline in Training as you build up your character to each race you join. Remember that we have one body so if we run injury free, the more we enjoy each races in the future.

One thought on “FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #11

Leave a Reply

