FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #12

Remarkable

…and funny (fun to be with, that is!)

Those words best describe our  Ultrarunner known to many as:

JON

JON LAS BRUCE
JON LAS BRUCE

My very first Race:

(Non-Commercial) Victoria Court Fun Run (June 2010 -3k)

(Commercial race) Rexona Run 2010 (August 2010-5k)

Kenyans!
With his Kenyan pacers!

The reason why I run:
Way back summer of 2010, I was confined in a hospital due to dengue. That was the first time I was hospitalized in my entire life. Syempre natakot ako, akala ko wakas na eh. I believed this happened because of an inactive life and a weak body. Then I choose running as my new lifestyle. Very simple reason I run is to have a healthy body for my family and for myself.

pictures before running1

My most memorable race:
BDM 102 (March 2013)
My intention to run in this race is to get the BDM grand slam trophy. I got so lucky on that day. I was blessed with good people who supported me on my grand slam attempt. Ok Ok Runners served as my support team for this race. It was a like a family gathering for us, para syang picnic. The most memorable moment for me was when I crossed the finish line – surprised that I finished 4th. Masaya na akong matapos ang race pero ang bait ni Lord . . . binigyan nya pa ako ng gold medal!

gold medal for bdm102

My Best Time in a Marathon:

03:38:31 in the 36th Milo National Marathon

3:38:31
3:38:31

Running Statistics – Marathon vs Ultra: 8 – 10


MARATHON

  1. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2011)
  2. 35th National Milo Marathon Elims (July 2011)
  3. QC International Marathon (December 2012)
  4. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2012)
  5. 36th National Milo Marathon Elims (July 2012)
  6. Run United Phil. Marathon (October 2012)
  7. 36th National Milo Marathon Finals (December 2012)
  8. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2013)


ULTRAMARATHON

  1. Fat Ass Run 2012 70.4 Kms (January 2012)
  2. Bataan Death March 102k (March 2012)
  3. Mayon 360 80k (April 2012)
  4. Tagaytay to Nagusbu 50k (May 2012)
  5. Mt. Pinatubo 50k Ultra trail Challenge (October 2012)
  6. Clark-Miyamit 50miles Ultra trail (November 2012)
  7. Fat Ass Run 2013 50.6 Kms (January 2013)
  8. Bataan Death March 160k (January 2012)
  9. Bataan Death March 102k (March 2013)
  10. The North Face Ultra Trail 100k (April 2013)
Mount Pinatubo
Mount Pinatubo
Clark - Miyamit
Clark – Miyamit
2nd BDM 160
2nd BDM 160
"going home"
“going home”

Difference between marathon and 50k?

PREPARATION

In terms of preparation (training) for Marathon, I have a program I followed. It’s a mix of solid tempo runs, long runs, circuit training, proper nutrition and recovery routines. In ultras, It’s almost the same but I lessen the intensity and do a lot of long runs especially when the race is more than 50k. Marathon means more tempos; ultra marathon means more mileage.

RACING

In marathons (in beating PR), I always see to it that I am on the right pace. I minimize stopping in every aid station. Minsan binibilang ko pa kung ilang beses ako kumain ng saging. Nakakadagdag rin kasi ng oras ang bawat hinto sa aid station. Basically, my marathon races is race against time. In ultramarathon, It’s purely run as long as you can – kung gusto mo ng top 10 result. Walk if necessary but do not quit. Ultramarathon for me is a team effort. Hindi kasi lahat ng ultras my aid station, dapat kasama rin yun sa mga training natin. Masaya sa ultra, lalo ang camaraderie ng community.

Last 5 most recent races:

  • Valley Trail Challenge 30k
  • Explorac Trail Run 22k
  • Run United 2 32k
  • Merrell Adventure Run 21k
  • TNF 100 ultra trail 100k

TNF100 finish line


MY FAVORITE SHOES FOR RACING AND TRAINING?

I have no separate shoes for training and racing, Usually, What I use in training is also the one I use for racing. In that way, meron na kaming chemistry. On trails it’s Salomon Comp 5. For road races, I use NB1300 or Adizero. I’m a fan of light shoes.

Team Affiliation:
OK OK Runners Family and Victoria Court Runners

Support Crew pag may time...
Support Crew pag may time…
1st 62K run with Mang VIC and Kuya Louie
1st 62K run with Mang VIC and Kuya Louie
When I am not racing
When I am not racing

MY MESSAGE TO THE RUNNING COMMUNITY?

Ano ba talaga meron sa ultra bakit dumadami ang gumagawa nito?

I discovered, it’s not the distance or the strong finish that makes me more happy but the camaraderie we show in every event we join in. May mga runner na totally hindi magkakilala pero handang mag bigay ng malamig na tubig, magmasahe, magbigay ng saging o anumang tulong para makatapos ng race. The fact that ultramarathon is a competition in nature but in my own perspective utramarathon became a convention of volunteer for the love of the sport.

Let’s just continue to love our sport. I believe ultramarathon is here to stay longer. Now it’s up to us how we will welcome it in a satisfying and life changing moment. Always remember ultra means extreme. Conquering an ultra distance is not a walk in the park, we have to train and prepare for it. Treat it like problem solving – reserve a solution in every challenges you will encounter. Ultrarunning will not make you rich but knowing that you exceed your limit is very rewarding. Get a life! Choose ultra! 🙂

Leave a Reply

