FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #14

Tough.

What better word to describe our Ultrarunner known to many as:

CJ

CJ Miles
CJ Miles

My very first race:

(Non-Commercial) First Star magic Run (March 14, 2010 -3km) – free kit bigay lang ng friend from star Magic.

(Commercial race) Earth run (June 5, 2010 – 5k) – First registered 5km run

First 5K with Best Friend and Running Buddy
First 5K with Best Friend and Running Buddy


The reason why I run:

I like it and I just do it. Masarap sa feeling… nakakawala ng stress sa buhay. The most common reason I think is to have a healthy lifestyle. Somebody says running is the greatest Metaphor for Life, because you get out of it, what you put into it. Because of running nagkaroon ako ng positive outlook in life. I realized, life itself is very precious and has a different meaning to everyone.  “I hope that through running marating ko pa ang age ni Mang Victor Ting”.

I used to be a MMORPG addict (google it). I think almost 6 to 9 hrs ako online (everyday) to play and to level up my character. Eventually I got sick and bedridden for almost 4 days then nung gumaling ako my character was left behind sa guild then medyo tinamad na maglaro. Suddenly, I saw my friends in facebook na nag join ng mga fun run and they motivated me to join also, then dun na ako nagstart to go into running.

THE old-CJ Miles playing MMORPG
THE old-CJ Miles playing MMORPG


My most memorable race:

2013 BDM 160

Memorable because it’s my dream to run in BDM 160 and for me it is the most prestigious 100-mile endurance run in the Philippines – considering the difficulty of the race and the history that goes with it. I’m also very proud and inspired because Karlene was physically part of my support crew in my journey to Capas Shrine.  I’m very thankful and honored because TL Zaldy, Gia and Noel of Ayala Triads volunteered and sacrificed their time to help me finish the race. Sa awa ng diyos dream come true I earned my 3rd buckle. “It was a once in a lifetime experience, daming kwento tsaka nangyaring drama”…(hahaha)

BDM 160
BDM 160

 

My Best Time in a Marathon:

03:51: 42 – Run United Philippines (I used Karlene’s bib kaya I got a sub 4)

3:51:41
3:51:41


Running Statistics – Marathon vs Ultra: 7-23

(editors note: he has the most ultras among the featured ultrarunners)

MARATHON

  1. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2011)
  2. 35th National Milo Marathon Elims (July 2011)
  3. QC International Marathon (December 2012)
  4. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2012)
  5. 36th National Milo Marathon Elims (July 2012)
  6. Run United Phil. Marathon (October 2012)
  7. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2013)

ULTRAMARATHON

  1. Tagaytay to Nasugbu 50 Kms (October 2011)
  2. Bataan Death March 102kms (March 2012)
  3. Mayon 360 80km (April 2012)
  4. Tagaytay to Nagusbu 50k (May 2012)
  5. Nuvali Trail Challenge Ultra trail 50Km (July 2012)
  6. First Marcos-Kennon Ultra 80Km (July 2012)
  7. I Shall Return Ultra 50 Km (August 2012)
  8. Fort Magsaysay to Dingalan 60km (August 2012)
  9. First PAU National Championship 110 km (September 2012)
  10. Warrior 50 Cebu 50 km (September 2012)
  11. Mt. Pinatubo 50k Ultra trail Challenge (October 2012)
  12. West Coast 200km Multi Stage (November 2012)
  13. Hundred Miles (H1) Bogo City 160 km (November 2012)
  14. Clark-Miyamit 80km Ultra trail (November 2012)
  15. Tagaytay to Nagusbu 50k (December 2012)
  16. Taklang Damulag Endurance run 160Km (December 2012)
  17. Bataan Death March 160k (January 2012)
  18. Hundred Miles (H1) Nueva Viscaya – DNF (February 2013)***
  19. Bataan Death March 102k (March 2013)
  20. Siquior 360 Ultra 75 km (March 2013
  21. The North Face Ultra Trail 100k (April 2013)
  22. Nuvali Trail Challenge Ultra trail 50Km (June 2013)
  23. 1st Negros Occidental 73km Ultra run (July 2013)
with Marcelo the Champ
with Marcelo the Champ
West Coast 200K
West Coast 200K
Taclang Damulag
Taclang Damulag
PAU Championship
PAU Championship

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MARATHON AND 50K

Obviously the distance… (LOL)

The other difference I think is pacing and nutrition.

 

PREPARATION

Training:

To improve my running skills I decided to train at BGC Milo APEX running school last May to July 2012. Fortunately I improved my PR’s and felt stronger every time I join a race. Also, every Tuesday I go to Ayala Triads running clinic. I also joined LSD with friends during my free time. 

MIYAMIT Trail
MIYAMIT Trail – Off Season sa Running

Pre race:

I have a pre-race ritual. A day or two before the race I go to the masseur or any decent spa/massage parlor for a massage (para relax ang body ko before the race).

Racing:

I usually start with fast pace then I just adjust my pace along the way. I always take full advantage of the night if the races start at night or early in the morning. Mahina kasi ako sa init ng araw. I just do a power walk sometimes to conserve energy then kapag ala na si haring araw takbo takbo din pag may time.

Post Race:

Sometimes I go to Peak Form BGC for therapy and quick recovery especially after running 100 mile.

5 Most Recent Races:

  1. Bataan Death March 102k (March 2013)
  2. Siquior 360 Ultra 75 km (March 2013)
  3. The North Face Ultra Trail 100k (April 2013)
  4. Nuvali Trail Challenge Ultra trail 50Km (June 2013)
  5. 1st Negros Occidental 73km Ultra run (July 2013)
with Karlene. 1st road ultra and podium finish
with Karlene. 1st road ultra and podium finish

MY FAVORITE SHOES FOR RACING AND TRAINING?

My favorite shoes for marathon and road Ultra running – it’s Mizuno Rider 14. Then for ultra trails Salomon Comp 5 and New Balance 610


Team Affiliation:

Ok Ok runners and Ayala Triads

Ok Ok Runners
Ok Ok Runners

MY MESSAGE TO THE RUNNING COMMUNITY?

I am still newbie in ultra running. For me my training, nutrition and race day strategy are still work in progress… I still experimenting my food intake, pacing during training or in actual races and I’m very happy I learn naman something new kung hindi nman na improved ko yung iba… and still continuous pa rin ang pag follow and pagbabasa ng running blog if I have free time to learn something new.

Ang masasabi ko lang sa running community is I realized ultra running takes a lot of discipline and dedication during training (especially the longer distances). Sabi nga nila,  sa Ultra “separates the men from the boys” due to the difficulty of the race. There’s a time because of fatigue and pain your mind will tell you to stop and quit from running (DNF) but if you trained well and have a strong mind/determination, you will finish the race.

Sa mga beterano dyan keep on inspiring people  – mga newbie na gaya ko… Cheers!

9 thoughts on “FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #14

    1. cj

      Haha d nman sa dami ng races nakikita kung beterano ka na sa ultra eh.. para sakin sa taon yun. madami pa nga akong natutunan eh.. at dapat malaman… mag 2 years pa nga lang ako sa oct 2013 🙂

    1. cj

      Mas dikit dikit yung nov to dec 2012.. kaya pagdating nung jan 2013 bdm may nararamdaman na ako unti sa tuhod ko.. haha

Leave a Reply

