THE PAGSANJAN TO MAJAYJAY 52.5

HARD ONE!

I left home early at 8pm, Saturday. Ronald Robles was already waiting at the bus terminal when I arrived. He didn’t know that if you pay as a regular, you get the Senior Citizen’s discount. LOLS. (I bet a lot of you have no idea about this too)

FARE: Buendia to Sta Cruz = P 112.00

We went straight to Jollibee for a meal. Well, he does. I just had a coffee. A nasty bitter one. Shame on this Jollibee branch. The coffee doesn’t taste like a brewed coffee. Just bitter. At about past 1am, we started finding the next ride to Pagsanjan. We even thought of just walking to get there. LOLS. ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyways, we got there too early. There are runners even earlier. Glad to see Bored Mates Daphne and Juvy.

TEAM BORING @ the site
TEAM BORING @ the site

By the way, Daphne made an impromptu decision to run – and another history is made. She finished as 2nd Runner up. Wearing her five-finger shoes!

1186275_507906119287205_719857902_n

Anyways, at least an hour before the gunstart, I started loading. 1 Chuckie + 1 suman. Zips of Gatorade, Water and Cobra.

At exactly 4:30am, we’re on!

My goal is just to finish this 50K in 8 hours. To make it faster is already a bonus.

I was at a good pace for the first 3 hours. I re-loaded on the 2nd hour of running. 1 chuckie, 1 pharmaton, 1 fudgee bar. I get hungry, you know.

1234330_588722391190368_947279351_n

Here comes the sun. What a beautiful sight it is in Caliraya.

By the 4th hour of my run, I was already struggling. No cramps yet. But my legs started to get heavy. I resorted to my fast walk – which is a very wise decision. Along the route, I bought Pop Cola, Coke, 7-up, Juicy Lemon, and RC Cola. The buco ice candy is also refreshing.

APPROACHING ARC CLUB aid station
APPROACHING ARC CLUB aid station

I was looking forward to the next 6 to 7 Kms for the next aid station. I really have no idea what will be there, but I will settle for a cold water.

Team Ek-Ek’s cold water spray gave me a lot of boost. Thanks again, Team Ek-Ek!ย  Somewhere past 20 kms, i took off my shirt and my arm sleeves. It’s too humid. While I get a good sweat, it’s too humid for me. I have no choice but to go up-naked.

I guess I will have to reiterate my gratitude to these Teams:

Salamat in Advance!
Salamat in Advance!

Here’s something funny. I ran out of water after the Knight Hawk’s aid station. I used my hand-held bottle to drink and to pour some in my head. I was really looking forward to Tukod.ph’s station. I checked my GPS record and I was already at KM 39 – but no aid station yet. I walked as fast as I can at every ascent. I jogged every descent – regardless of how long. ๐Ÿ˜›

..and then I saw the aid station. It really felt so long. Yob was holding an iced tea (:P hehehehe empe pala!)ย  (an alcoholic drink which I almost accepted!) I took some flat tops and some corn chips and literally took a bath there. LOLS. How refreshing! They have a pail of water which I failed to notice at first. I saw it only after a few minutes of stopping there. Thanks again, Tukod.ph!

Then I’m back with my pace. This time, looking forward to Team Marupok’s aid station. Any self-supporting runner would accept anything at this time of the run. The route is a rolling hills. You will see the elevation details later on.ย  Majayjay is majestic too.

This race reminded me of Fort Magsaysay. The difference is humidity.

with two tough runners
with two tough runners

At the Team Marupok’s aid station, I was given a VIP treatment – for that is exactly what I felt. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe because I am already tired. Maybe because I really need a massage. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was also given a cup full of Sago & Gulaman with Ice. I was given a massage with some ointment right where it hurts – my calf muscle. This happened on my to the turning point. I was given a cold-towel bath there. Courtesy of Doc Minnie Tomas. God bless her.

1175355_507928615951622_1545484769_n

Going back to the Team Marupok’s station, I had another serving of Sago & Gulaman, refilled my water, and then went back to jogging. I jogged almost non-stop until the finish line. Thanks again, Team Marupok!ย  I have 35 minutes left to beat 6 Kms to the Finish Line. I was hoping to make it in 8 hours for the 50K. That is my goal and I aimed for that.

I was told that it’s just another 500 meters from the intersection to the Finish Line and so I ran. Next time, I won’t ask ANYMORE. The 500 meters is more than 2 kms I think. It goes a bit up and dipped un-ending-down – which is good for me! ๐Ÿ™‚ See the route details below:

Thanks to Ms.
Thanks to Ms. Joanne R. Raquel

Finally, the sound of the people waiting.

Finish line in 8 hours 2 minutes. I had to walk on the trail part because of the Lunar Glide 4 I am wearing. First ultra of this shoe. It just can’t handle rough road.

52.5K IN 8:02
52.5K IN 8:02

Thanks be to God!

Kudos to the Otek and his Organizing Team. Great route! Great aid station volunteers! Great run!

The dip at the cold pool post run is a well deserved treat.

๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “THE PAGSANJAN TO MAJAYJAY 52.5

Leave a Reply

