Great Improvement

Last year, I made a plan to make this year a year of breaking records and PRs. So far, I have beaten myself in a couple of races now.

Last April 26, 2015, my first race for this year, I was able to run a new personal best on a 42K. Of course, almost all distances below except 10K was a PR.

The following month, May, I joined a 10K fun run in Pasig. Again, I was able to beat my own PR. I was so happy with the result of my erratic training. Low mileage yet effective workouts. With or without sleep doesn’t matter.

Again, last June 14, 2015, I joined PAL’s Manila Marathon. Such prestige in the name but was a poorly managed race. We started by a countdown. Not a single tarp to say we are in what event and where exactly is the start. First water station is at KM 1 followed by the next one in KM 7. Tough race indeed! But, wait, there’s more! Since this is a 2 loop route, we already know the distance after the first. See my snap-shot below.

image

See! First full loop is only 16.2 x 2…and they added another small 5K loop after the 2nd Loop … For at least 37.4K. Add some more to the finish line and this will only give you a 38K distance. See below.

image

Sad to say, despite my faster time than last time, no new PR.

image

Some minor few, though. It’s a sure new record for me if this was only a 42K.

image

Anyways, I already have exceeded my own expectation. Once again, I have proven to myself how effective my methods of training is. Careful note must also be made that I have not added any strengthening workouts like I would when preparing for an ultra. It’s bound to happen soon though.

If ever, by MILO race day on July, I just might run a new best time…but its still tentative. What’s important now is to rest and recover well for the next hard workouts. Small minute details do take care of the big events. 🙂

All thanks and praise be to our Lord God Almighty!

Leave a Reply

